Home > eICS > Contacts > Activate or Deactivate a User Account

Activate or Deactivate a User Account

Administrators can change a contact's ability to access eICS and respond to incidents by activating or deactivating their account. If you deactivate an account:

  • Other eICS users cannot assign the contact to an ICS position,
  • Other eICS users cannot deploy the contact to an incident, and
  • The contact cannot access the eICS application.

The Account Information / Log In drawer for a user can contain the following options: Contact is active and Enable user account. If the contact has a username (that is, has been granted access to eICS), the drawer does not contain the Enable user account check box. In this case, activating and deactivating the contact is done solely through the Contact is active check box.

Selecting or clearing these check boxes changes a contact's access and availability as follows:

Contact is active

Enable user account

The contact...

Selected

Selected

Is available to be deployed to this facility's incidents.

Has access to the application.

Selected

Cleared

Is available to be deployed to this facility's incidents.

Does not have access to the application except when enlisted during an incident.

Cleared

Selected

Is not available to be deployed to this facility's incidents.

Does not have access to the application.

Cleared

Cleared

Is not available to be deployed to this facility's incidents.

Does not have access to the application.

To activate or deactivate a user account

Note: You cannot deactivate a contact who is currently assigned to an active ICS position. You must first remove the contact from the position before you can deactivate them.

  1. Point to Planning and click Contacts. The Contacts for (facility/domain) page opens.

  2. In the Contacts for list, select the domain or facility.

  3. On the left, locate and select the contact. The contact's details appear on the right.

  4. Click the Account Information / Log In drawer.

  5. Take one of these actions.

    If you want to...

    Then...

    Activate the contact, making them available to be assigned to positions and deployed to incidents,

    On the right, select the Contact is active check box.

    De-activate the contact, making them unavailable to be deployed to incidents, On the right, clear the Contact is active check box.
    Enable the contact's user account so they can log in to and use eICS, On the right, select the Enable user account check box.

    Disable the contact's account so they cannot access eICS,

    On the right, clear the Enable user account check box.

  6. Click Save.

Tip: In the Planning: Contacts area, you can easily spot the deactivated contact accounts. On the left, the contact's name has a strike through it, as in Doe, Jane.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
15:56, 3 Mar 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.