Home > EMResource > Users > Shared Accounts

Shared Accounts

In EMResource, accounts can be shared by two or more users. These shared accounts allow multiple users to manage resources according to the roles and rights of a single account. For example, a shared account entitled “MemorialED” might be created for an emergency department (ED) because different users, during different shifts, are responsible for updating the ED’s status.

Users on a shared account can access it using the shared login or their own, personal login. Shared logins are the credentials, username and password, assigned to the account. Because it is difficult to securely share login credentials, personal logins were developed as an alternative that allows individual users to manage their own credentials for accessing the shared account.

Regardless of how users access the account, the actions they take within the account are attributed to the account as a whole, not the individual user.

Creating Shared Accounts

Shared accounts can be created for new or existing user accounts. However, once created, shared accounts cannot be unshared. To create a shared account, follow the procedure Create a User or Edit a User, and on the User page, in the User Profile section, select the Shared Account check box. After saving, users can access the account with the shared login or you can create personal logins.

create-shared-account.png

Managing Personal Logins

After creating a shared account, administrators can edit the account to select the Personal Login check box on the User page. This enables the display of a banner, upon user log in, that encourages users to create personal logins.

edit-shared-account-personal-logins.png

Personal logins can be managed by administrators and/or account users. Administrators access this page through the Setup menu, by clicking Users, and then locating the account and clicking Personal Logins. Account users who know the shared login credentials can access this page through the Preferences menu, by clicking Personal Logins.

emresource-personal-login.png

The Personal Logins page lists users who already have or have been invited to create personal logins. Details include the users’ Full Name and Login Email, as well as whether the email was verified and if appropriate, the date the verification email was sent and/or if it has expired. Also on this page, you can create, deactivate, and re-invite personal login users.

When you create a personal login for yourself or someone else, you need to enter the user’s email address and full name. An invitation is sent to the email address, and the user must access the email and complete the setup process. After this, the user’s personal login is considered active. They can use their email address, as their username, along with the password they created to log in with their personal login. 

There are two additional actions that can be enacted on personal logins. These features allow you to:

  • Reinvite users that have been created, but have not yet verified their personal login. Another email message is sent inviting them to complete the setup process.
  • Deactivate users who no longer need access to the account.

For more information, go to the article Manage Personal Logins.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.