Home > EMResource > Users > Edit a User

Edit a User

Table of contents

Administrators with the appropriate rights can maintain user accounts, including updating contact information, assigning roles, and granting access to resources. A user account allows an individual to log in to EMResource, view activity, and (if appropriate) update activities for their particular resources. Refer to About Users for descriptions of user profile fields.

useredit.png

The roles you assign to users govern the views and features that are available to them. Specifically, a role grants a predefined set of rights.

Use the Search fields at the top of the page to locate a specific user.

Refer to About Users: Access to Resources for more information.

Editing a user account can involve adding to or changing profile details, managing roles, managing views, granting or changing resource rights, and more

To edit a user
  1. From any page, open the Setup menu in the main navigation bar and click Users. The Users List opens.

  2. Locate the user in the list and click edit. The Edit User page opens.

  3. In the User Profile section, enter or change the appropriate name and contact information fields:

  • Full Name (required)

  • First Name

  • Middle Name

  • Last Name

  • Organization

  • Contact Phone

  • Primary Email

  • Email Addresses

  • Text Pager Addresses

Tip: If you are entering multiple email addresses and/or text pager addresses, separate them with a comma.

Note: EMResource validates that the email and text pager addresses you enter are formatted correctly, and notifies you when they are not.

  1. In Administrative Comments, enter comments about the user, if appropriate.

  2. In the User Type & Roles section, add to or change the roles for this user.

  3. If you want to set this user up as a resource administrator:

    1. In the User Has Role column of the User Type & Roles section, select the user's role or roles.

    2. In the User Can Assign Role column, select the role or roles this user can manage.

  4. In the Views section, from Default View select or change the user's default view.

  5. In Views in This Region select or change the views this user can access.

  6. If appropriate, select or change the views from other regions this user can access (View Other Regions section).

Tip: You can quickly allow this user to all views in other regions by selecting the Select All check box at the top of the list.

  1. In the Resource Rights section, select and clear check boxes to add to or change a user's access to resources.

  • Associated With

  • Update Status

  • Run Reports

  • View Resource

Tip: Use the search fields at the top of this section to quickly find the appropriate resources.

  1. To restrict the user's visibility into a resource's status types:

    1. Locate the resource and click the Refine link next to the resource's View Resource check box. The Refine Visible Status Types window opens.

    2. Select or clear status types.

    3. Click Save Changes.

  2. If you are the region administrator and you are setting this user up as a resource administrator, select the Administer Users check box for each appropriate resource.

  3. As appropriate, select or change the user's User Preferences:

  1. Add to or change the user's default notification preferences:

    1. For each Type select On or Off in the All Notifications column.

    2. If the notification should include the resource summary, select the check box for each Type.

    3. Indicate the timing of notifications of each Type by selecting At All Times or Exclude Time Range and indicate the range of hours in From and To.

  2. Expand the Advanced Options section.

  3. As appropriate, in Additional User Rights add or change rights for the user.

Tip: You do not need to select the rights that have a red asterisk (*) next to the name. The user inherits these rights from the role(s) you selected.

  1. Click Save.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.