Home > EMResource > Resources > Manage Resource Users

Manage Resource Users

Authorized administrators can manage a resource's users, including adding users, removing a user's access to the resource, and changing a user's level of access.

Note the following about resource users:

  • Use the fields at the top of the Assign Users to (resource name) page to search for a user.

  • If you grant Associated With, Update Status, and/or Run Reports resource rights to a user, you must also grant (select) the View Resource right.

From here you can manage the resource's users and restrict visibility into the resource's status types.

In the Assign Users to (resource) page, you can select and clear check boxes to add to or change a user's access to this resource; clearing all check boxes removes the user's access to the resource. Refer to About Users: Access to Resources for more information.

A number of filters are available to you at the top of the Assign Users to (resource) page. In addition to filtering by role, resource types, and username, you can filter the list of resources by the rights you can assign in this section: association with the resource, update status, run reports, view resource, and administer users.

useraccessrightsfilters.png

To manage resource users
  1. From any page, open the Setup menu in the main navigation bar and select Resources. The Resource List opens.

  2. Locate the resource and click its Users link. The Assign Users to (resource) page opens.

  3. Select and/or clear check boxes to grant or remove user access to this resource.

Tip: To completely remove the user's access to this resource, clear all of the check boxes for the user, including the View Resource check box. The resource will no longer be visible to the user. To allow the user to view the resource but restrict the user's visibility into certain status types, make certain the View Resource check box is selected and see the following procedure.

  1. If you are done, click Save at the bottom of the page, or to restrict the status types that are visible to a user, see the following procedure.

To restrict visibility

By default, if you grant a user view access to a resource (that is, the user's View Resource check box is selected), that user can view all of the resource's status types. You can restrict user's visibility into one or more of the resource's status type as follows:

  1. In the Assign Users to (resource name) page, locate the user and click the Refine link next to the user's View Resource check box. The Refine Visible Status Types window opens.

  2. Select or clear the appropriate status types.

  3. Click Save Changes. The window closes.

  4. Click Save in the Assign Users to (resource) page.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified
16:06, 19 Jul 2017

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.